Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff Directory

Full-time Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Affiliated Faculty
Staff

Matt Baker

Assistant Professor, Linguistics
mattbaker@byu.edu
4045 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-1253

Suzy Bills

Assistant Teaching Professor, Linguistics
suzy_bills@byu.edu
4065 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-1719

Earl Brown

Professor, Linguistics
ekbrown@byu.edu
4052 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-2937

Don Chapman

Professor, Linguistics
don_chapman@byu.edu
4064B JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-8738

Troy Cox

Associate Professor (Professional), Linguistics
troyc@byu.edu
3086C JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 360-0476

Dan Dewey

Department Chair, Linguistics
ddewey@byu.edu
4064C JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-6005

Grant Eckstein

Associate Professor, Linguistics
grant_eckstein@byu.edu
4064A JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-5946

Dave Eddington

Professor, Linguistics
eddington@byu.edu
4041 JFSB
Provo , UT 84602
(801) 422-7452

Dirk Elzinga

Associate Professor, Linguistics
dirk_elzinga@byu.edu
4043 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-2117

Norman Evans

Professor, Linguistics
norman_evans@byu.edu
4048 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-8472

Jeff Green

Assistant Professor, Linguistics
jjgreen@byu.edu
4073 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
801-422-2020

James Hartshorn

Assistant Professor, Linguistics
james_hartshorn@byu.edu
4061 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-4034

Brett Hashimoto

Assistant Professor, Linguistics
brett_hashimoto@byu.edu
4037 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3482

LaReina Hingson

Visiting Professor, Linguistics
hingson@byu.edu
4071 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-5682

Lisa Johnson

Assistant Professor, Linguistics
lisamorganjohnson@byu.edu
4040 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
801-422-2938

Deryle Lonsdale

Associate Professor, Linguistics
dwl8@byu.edu
4039 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-4067

Janis Nuckolls

Professor, Linguistics
janis_nuckolls@byu.edu
4055 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3448

Dallin Oaks

Professor, Linguistics
dallin_oaks@byu.edu
4075 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-6369

Jeffrey Parker

Assistant Professor, Linguistics
jeff_parker@byu.edu
4050 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-5353

Jacob Rawlins

Associate Professor, Linguistics
jacob_rawlins@byu.edu
4051 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-2144

Chris Rogers

Associate Professor, Linguistics
chris_rogers@byu.edu
4047 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-4707

Wendy Smemoe

Professor, Linguistics
wendy_smemoe@byu.edu
4057 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-4714

Joey Stanley

Assistant Professor, Linguistics
joey_stanley@byu.edu
4059 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-9168

Mark Tanner

Associate Professor, Linguistics
mark_tanner@byu.edu
4063 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-8154

Miriam Whiting

Visiting Professor, Linguistics
miriam_whiting@byu.edu
4069 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3483

Curious about our faculty's research interests and specialties? View them here.

Brent Allen

Brent Allen

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty, Linguistics
bcallen@wsc.edu
4001 JKB
Provo, UT 84602

Nicole Bay

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty, Linguistics
nicole_bay@byu.edu
4065 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-1696

Jacquelyn Christensen

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty, Linguistics
jacquelyn.christensen@byu.edu
4017 JKB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-1641

Jenelle Cox

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty, Linguistics
jenellecox@sbcglobal.net
UPC
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3137

Jessica McGovern

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty, Linguistics
jessicalynnmcgovern@hotmail.com
326 UPC
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 369-3565

Heather Sturman

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty, Linguistics
heathermajol@gmail.com
4096B JKB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-2692

Katrina Wilkins

Part-time/Adjunct Faculty, Linguistics
katrinawilkins@byu.edu
4096B JKB
Provo, UT 84602

Affiliated faculty are housed within other departments and offices in the College of Humanities. They may serve as thesis chairs for Linguistics and TESOL graduate students, and they sometimes teach linguistics courses.

Scott Alvord

Spanish and Portuguese
salvord@byu.edu
3162 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-7546

Juno Baik

Asian and Near Eastern Languages
juno_baik@byu.edu
3089 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-9121

Kirk Belnap

Asian and Near Eastern Languages
belnap@byu.edu
3064B JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-6531

Dana Bourgerie

Asian and Near Eastern Languages
dana_bourgerie@byu.edu
3067 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-4952

Jennifer Bown

German and Russian
jennifer_bown@byu.edu
3117 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3207

Michael Child

Spanish and Portuguese
michael_child@byu.edu
3161 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-2496

Jim Law

French and Italian
jimlaw@byu.edu
3137 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-2782

Grant Lundberg

German and Russian
grant_lundberg@byu.edu
4002A JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-2615

Adam McBride

French and Italian
a_mcbride@byu.edu
3135 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-4705

Steve Moody

Asian and Near Eastern Languages
sjmoody@byu.edu
3069 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-6405

Rob Reynolds

Digital Humanities
robert_reynolds@byu.edu
1163A JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-7426

Laura C. Smith

German and Russian
laurasmith@byu.edu
3109 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3513

Jeff Turley

Spanish and Portuguese
jeffrey_turley@byu.edu
3190B JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-7019

Lynn Williams

Spanish and Portuguese
lynn_williams@byu.edu
3179 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-3273

Mary Beth Wald

Graduate Manager
marybeth_wald@byu.edu
4064 JFSB
Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-9010

Sherri Hadfield

Office Specialist
ling-admin@byu.edu
4064 JFSB
(801) 422-2921

Eric Christensen

Student Secretary
lingoffice@byu.edu
4064 JFSB
(801) 422-2937

Spencer Fawcett

Student Secretary
lingoffice@byu.edu
4064 JFSB
(801) 422-2937

Leah Waldrop

Student Secretary
lingoffice@byu.edu
4064 JFSB
(801) 422-2937