Skip to main content

Human language is a great mystery. How do we use it so well without any lessons? How do we manage to make ourselves understood? It requires a complex coordination that we manage on a daily basis. The Linguistics minor will provide you with basic conceptual tools for talking about human language in an informed way. You will learn how linguists analyze human language by breaking it down into different levels of structure. You will learn to discern patterns and regularities in language that you didn't know existed.

Faculty Advisors

Last Name Advisor Office Phone Email
A-C Dave Eddington 4041 JFSB 422-7452 eddington@byu.edu
D-F Dirk Elzinga 4043 JFSB 422-2117 dirk_elzinga@byu.edu
G-I Jeffrey Green 4073 JFSB 422-2020 jjgreen@byu.edu
J-L Deryle Lonsdale 4039 JFSB 422-4067 lonz@byu.edu
M-O Janis Nuckolls 4055 JFSB 422-3448 janis_nuckolls@byu.edu
P-S Jeff Parker 4050 JFSB 422-5353 jeff_parker@byu.edu
T-V Chris Rogers 4047 JFSB 422-4707 chris_rogers@byu.edu
W-Z Earl Brown 4052 JFSB 422-3970 earl_brown@byu.edu